The Yachts




Anthony Johnston bought URM, and she arrived in Australia in October 2019.  Fighting the clock to get her ready in time for the Rolex Sydney Hobart, she made it and placed 19th overall and ninth on the line. She surprised by dicing in the top four on line until late in the race, despite her hurried preparation. This maxi was originally Shockwave, built by John McConaghy and launched as Alfa Romeo III for Neville Crichton. He raced her successfully overseas, including winning the IRC Maxi division of the 2010 Giraglia Race. American, George Sakellaris, was her next owner and he took her to first in the Mini-Maxi division at the 2015 Giraglia Cup. She was the oldest there, but as he said, “the best one there. We’re looking forward to what transpires in this year’s race, because this is still a very good yacht.”

URM took Line Honours for third overall in the 2021 Bird Island Race and then fourth over the line for fourth overall in the Cabbage Tree Island Race. She placed second in the Mini Maxi Division of the SOLAS Big Boat Challenge, converting to second in the inaugural Income Asset Management Australian Maxi Championship. URM will be skippered by Marcus Ashley-Jones, who combines offshore races with 18ft skiff racing. The crew includes many ‘18s’ sailors, including navigator Yvette Heritage. Also aboard is Jason Waterhouse, a double Nacra Olympian who claimed silver at the 2016 Rio Games and who warmed up in December’s SailGP as crew for Tom Slingsby. Steve ‘Mothy’ Jarvin and son Seve are aboard too. Sr holds the record for the most Line Honours victories in the Hobart, while Jr is one of only two skippers to win the coveted 18ft skiff JJ Giltinan (World) titles six times – Iain Murray was the first).


Competitor Details

Yacht Name URM
Sail Number AUS72
Owner Anthony Johnston
Skipper Marcus Ashley-Jones (16)
Crew Anthony Johnston (2), Steve Jarvin (31_, James Wierzbowski (1), Peter Harris (4), John Walton, Nick Davis (9), Harry Smith, Jason Waterhouse, Philip Marshall (4), Stewart Wells (6), Aron Ormandlaki (4), Nick Johnston (1), James Dorron, Jasper Warren, Seve Jarvin (4), Morgan Frew (7), David Johnston (1)
State NSW
Type Reichel Pugh Maxi 72
Designer Reichel/Pugh (USA)
LOA 21.8