The Yachts




Making the step up to the former Jazz last year proved the perfect choice for Darryl Hodgkinson when he won IRC Division 0 in last year’s Sydney Gold Coast race and was declared overall winner of the 2013 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race, which helped him win the re-ignited Southern Cross Cup with team members Patrice and Wild Rose.

Earlier this year, in the Land Rover Sydney Gold Coast Race he finished nineth on line, seventh on IRC overall fifth on IRC Division 0. The canting Cookson 50 finished second to Wild Rose in the CYCA’s Blue Water Pointscore (BWPS), was third under ORCi and claimed the series’ newly created line honours division. In April, Victoire won the Gosford Lord Howe Island Yacht Race after crossing the finish line second, just two hours behind the line honours winner, Southern Excellence II.

In December 2011, Hodgkinson was named the CYCA’s Ocean Racing Rookie of the Year and in a first, a year later was named Ocean Racer of the Year after winning the 2011 to 2012 BWPS and successfully defending his class victory at the 2012 IRC Australian Championship with his previous Victoire, a Beneteau 45. For the Land Rover Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race, he has added Mike Green to his already top crew, which can only enhance
enhance their performance.


Competitor Details

Yacht Name Victoire
Sail Number AUS5299
Owner Darryl Hodgkinson
Skipper Darryl Hodgkinson (3)
Crew M Green (35), S Kirkjian (18), A Hawkins (11), S Guanaria (8), M Ramaley (6), D Rutherford (4), T Tubman (3), S Francis (5), K Groves (1), S Crafer (12), C Kosecki (4), M Slinn (9)
State NSW
Type Cookson 50
Designer Farr Yacht Design
Builder Cookson Boats NZ
Construction Fibreglass
LOA 15.2
Beam 4.3
Draft 3.5