The Yachts




Eighty four year-old Syd Fischer, a legend in ocean racing history, is contesting his 46th offshore season with his latest Ragamuffin, a TP52 originally from San Diego.  Fischer won the Sydney Hobart overall in 1992 and took line honours twice with his German Frers-designed maxi Ragamuffin, in 1988 and 1990, and has completed 42 Hobart races.

In the inaugural Audi Sydney Offshore Newcastle Yacht Race 2008, Fischer claimed the line honours and IRC double, finished 3rd overall in 2009 race and second in the ORCi division last year.  He was crowned the CYCA’s Blue Water Champion (2007-2008), the ninth time he had won this coveted title and finished third in the 2009-2010 Blue Water Pointscore.  Fischer placed third in the 2010/2011 Blue Water Pointscore and won the Cape Byron Series (for those yachts holding an ORCi rating certificate).


Competitor Details

Yacht Name Ragamuffin
Sail Number AUS 70
Owner Syd Fischer
Skipper Syd Fischer (42)
Crew B Favelle (5), B Northcote (5), D Woodhead (1) C Wade-Lehman (2), J Goluzd (31), K Searle (2), L Jamieson (24), S McConaghy (13), T Ellis (44), A Crowe, B Savage, D Curtis, V Dudley
State NSW
Type TP52
Designer Farr
Builder Goetz
Construction Carbon
LOA 15.85
Beam 4.41
Draft 3.19