The Yachts


Category Placing
IRC 10
IRC - Div 4 2
Line Honours 45
* Click on the categories for full standings

Whistler, an MBD 36, has had great success in Tasmanian offshore racing. In the 2010/11 season, Whistler was the winner of the Combined Clubs Offshore Series, Three Islands Series AMS & IRC, 1st Maria Island AMS and winner of the Britannia Trophy.  Sailed as Creative Intension in the 2006 Rolex Sydney Hobart, she was the first boat under 11m and first Tasmanian boat to finish on IRC. Whistler will be co-skippered for this race by David Rees and Jory Linscott.  Five of the crew competed in the 2006 race and joining Whistler for their first Hobart race are Nick McKim, Jacqui Guy, Dave Aplin and Tim Price.


Competitor Details

Name Whistler
Sail Number L77
Owner David Rees
Skipper David Rees (14)
Crew J Linscott (1), N McKim, D Aplin, J Rees (1), D Spiers (1), T Jones (7), J Guy, T Price
State TAS
Type MBD36
Designer Andy Dovell
Builder R Goode
Construction Glass Sandwich
LOA 11.0
Beam 3.5
Draft 2.3