The Yachts


Category Placing
IRC - Div 1 4
Line Honours 12
Line Honours - Div 361 12
* Click on the categories for full standings

Eighty one year-old Syd Fischer, a legend in Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race history, is contesting his 46th offshore season and his 40th race south as skipper of his latest Ragamuffin, a TP52 originally from San Diego. Fischer won the Sydney Hobart overall in 1992 and took line honours twice with his German Frers designed maxi Ragamuffin, in 1988 and 1990. Syd Fischer is the current CYCA’s Blue Water Champion (2007/2008) – the ninth time he has won this coveted title.


Competitor Details

Name Ragamuffin
Sail Number AUS 70
Owner Syd Fischer (39)
Crew T Ellis (41), P Eadie (25), J Dock (6), K Cowan, M Edmonds, N Workman, L Jaimeson (23), J De Kock (7), M Hayes (12), C Wade-Lehman, J Goluzd (27).
State NSW
Type TP52
Designer Farr
Builder Goetz
Construction Carbon
LOA 15.85
Beam 4.41
Draft 3.19